Art Camp – Week 3 Review

Week 3 done =D This week was still lives, which I had never done before, but which I found myself really enjoying! I completed the lowest tier of work again – 10 colour studies of still lives, 2 imaginative sketches, 2 fully finished still lives – although I need to polish the second finished still life once I’ve written this blog post. I pushed the colour studies further than the course suggested, but I felt that I was getting so much out of them that I didn’t want to stop at the basics! I think I’m going to carry on aiming to do as much work as I can for each week, but if I only do the minimum I’m not going to worry about it. I’d rather take my time and really think about what I’m doing than rush things and so not learn as much. Of course, it’s still important to produce a decent volume of work, otherwise I won’t be getting enough practice in! But I think my speed and fluency is improving – especially after this week =D

As some of you may have seen on Facebook or Twitter, I got a new monitor this week – it’s a BenQ GW2765HT LED IPS 27 -inch monitor, and it’s gorgeous! So nice to work on, and I can finally sit upright and relax while painting, rather than being hunched up over my tiny Macbook screen! The colour fidelity is also far better than my Macbook’s, although it took a while to get used to the values, which appear lighter on the BenQ. I definitely felt the benefits of being able to release my shoulders and wrist while painting – my penstrokes were far smoother =D

Again, here’s a selection of my pieces, in the order that I did them:

Leave a Reply

